Life, Sewing and Crafts

Retirement Sign

So, this past October we celebrated my Aunt’s retirement! And where better to celebrate one of the happiest days on earth than in the “Happiest Place on Earth”?!

Yeah, that’s right. Disneyland!

We had a blast! It was so fun to spend time with my mom, sister, and aunt. The first day we got to LA, we had a surprise party for my aunt to kick off the party week! One thing I made for her was a wooden sign that had “Retirement Rules” on it. It was actually waaay easier than I thought it would be and turned out really cute!

I made it using a pallet that John and I got from a company that was getting rid of some of theirs. So I guess we could pretend we’re high end and say it was made from “reclaimed wood”… Ooo, I feel so fancy ;). John helped me pull some of the wood off of it and cut it all to be the right length.

After that, I used screws and some flat brackets to secure them together and then stained the wood.

 

wooden retirement sign diy wooden retirement sign diy

I left the wood overnight just to make sure it was definitely dry enough to work on (even though it wasn’t super wet) and started by writing the words out using a pencil. I also made a template to practice with before I wrote on the actual wood, just to make sure I had all the spacing right.

Once I liked how I had it, I went over the pencil using a paint pen and erased any pencil marks that were left.

All that was left after that was to screw in the metal hook part that will make it so she can hang it on the wall.

I know. I’m so specific. You can really tell how often I actually use these things…

 

retirement sign diy

Anyway, I thought it turned out great! And my aunt loved it! She’s going to hang it up on her wall and enjoy some very fairly earned time off.

Leave a comment